How to change a Backup Client and Server to a Backup Server only by removing the Backup Client from the Backup Server.

Background:

Backup for Workgroups is client / server software.  By default the Backup Client is installed on the computer that is acting as the Backup Server.  If you want the Backup Server to be just a Backup Server only and not include the Backup Server itself in the backup process, you can turn off the Backup Client that is on the Backup Server.

How to resolve this issue:

  1. Go to the computer that is running the Backup for Workgroups Backup Server software.
  2. Go to the folder where Backup for Workgroups is installed, the default location is "c:\program files\lockstep\backupforworkgroups".  NOTE:  Backup for Workgroups is 64 bit so its in "c:\program" files for both 32 bit Windows and 64 bit Windows.
  3. Double click on the file BackupForWorkgroups.ini to load the file into NotePad.
  4. You will see a section that has the title [StartUp] and under this you will see the line: "BackupClient=yes" change this to read "BackupClient=no".
  5. Save your changes and close NotePad.
  6. Now stop and start the Backup for Workgroups service:
  1. Right click on My Computer and select Manage.
  2. At the Computer Management windows, expand "Services and Application" and then highlight "Services".
  3. Right click on the service named "Backup for Workgroups" and select Stop.
  4. Then repeat and choose start.

When you restart the Backup for Workgroups service, it will disable the Backup Client on the Backup Server.  You can verify this by opening the Backup for Workgroups admin.  You should see 4 buttons on the left hand side of the screen. 

 

Everyday, thousands of corporations, non-profits, and Government agencies use Backup for Workgroups Backup Software to backup their Windows Servers!  You can too!

Here are just a few of our many customers...

md传媒免费全集观看在线观看_在线观看午夜福利片日本_亚洲人成人77777网站